Maryland | Tax Law
Legal Question
Lawsuit Monetary award Taxable?
I want to know if the proceeds from a lawsuit brought for injuries or death are taxable by the federal or Maryland state government?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Re: Lawsuit Monetary award Taxable? An open ended question... depending on the type of award and who obtained it there may be tax reporting requirements. Whether tax is owed depends on matters such as back pay, money owed for compensation of wages, compensatory, special, or punitive damages. An attorney or certified tax accountant could assist you with this matter pertaining to your lawsuit recovery.
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Denese Dominguez, LLC
Severn, MD
Questions Answered: 128
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-17
Burton J. Haynes, P.C.
Burke, VA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Robert Beatson, II
Potomac, MD
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
Bruce Lewis P.C.
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 78
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-05-02
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Office of Thomas K. Mallon, LLC
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 31
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-13
Thomas McCarthy, Sr., Esq., P.C.
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-08-23
Search Questions and Answers


