Okay I am a 18 year old Male Maryland resident.
My first ticket (Early 2012) I plead guilty to speeding 15 over and later had to attend a drivers improvement class.
My second ticket (Late 2012) I plead guilty 16 over and my license was suspended for 30 days.
Today I got a ticket for going 70 in a 50.
I believe if I am convicted I will lose my license for 180 days.
That cant happen. Im starting my life and entering the work force and need to get on my feet.
Mom and dad are out of the picture and I don't have anyone for advice.
I have a couple of questions and any advice is greatly appreciated.
Do I need lawyer?
Am I eligible for probation before judgement even though I have a provisional license and it is my 3rd offense?
If the judge drops the points will I still lose my license?
2 Answers from Attorneys
An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you evaluate the prosecution's case, any defenses that you might have, and any plea offer that might be made, so that you can decide whether to go to trial. Consider seeking a confidential consultation.
Eligible for a PBJ? Sure, but doesn't mean a judge will give it to you. Even if they do, it doesn't matter, you'll still get a provisional violation. The absolute best thing you can do is request a trial (NOT a waiver hearing or anything else), see if you can get it dismissed (no cop, etc.), and if that doesn't work, then you're going to get a suspension notice from MVA.
When you get it, IMMEDIATELY request an MVA hearing (you may be required to pay a $150 fee). If you get two notices (one for points if you have 8 or more, and one for provisional violation), request a hearing for BOTH! And yes, you should definitely consider getting an attorney for the MVA hearing. Someone like me can help a lot in that situation.
Related Questions & Answers
I was pulled over for registration, emission and inspection. The police ended up... Asked 9/06/13, 3:34 pm in United States Maryland Traffic Law
What information is required by the police if they pull someone over without them... Asked 9/02/13, 10:57 am in United States Maryland Traffic Law
What does W201: F to D mean in a court case? I had a deferred payment for a fine but... Asked 8/25/13, 5:47 pm in United States Maryland Traffic Law
I recently got pulled over for driving under a suspended license but however my... Asked 8/01/13, 4:08 pm in United States Maryland Traffic Law
If I received a ticket on July 10 and have 10 days to pay it.but receive a notice of... Asked 7/20/13, 10:37 am in United States Maryland Traffic Law