Legal Question in Family Law in Massachusetts

If a divorce case is open in one state but both parties have moved to another state over a year ago and there is also a divorce case filed in state where both parties have moved to, does the judge in state where the parties have moved have jurisdiction over the case or does the judge in original state have jurisdiction?

Asked on 8/30/13, 4:54 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Until such time you and your soon to be ex-husband request a change in jurisdiction, the original court retains jurisdiction.

Read more
Answered on 8/30/13, 6:53 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Massachusetts

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now