Massachusetts  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
3/06/08, 12:56 pm

Legal Question


Representing myself in a civil suit?

Getting to the point: I downloaded contact information from my prior company’s website that included addresses and other public information. I offered to sell it to a competitor. No money was exchanged. I was online and arrested all in the same day. charged with one felony and one misdemeanor (trade secrets). Criminal case was dropped due to apparent inactivity on the side of the DA. Paid a great lawyer 10k to get me through the pre-trial. Now, a civil suit is against me.

I was recently sent a 1st set of interrogatories, request for documents, and a notice for deposition. My lawyer wants to charge me another few thousand to take me through this initial deposition and respond to all of their requests. He seems to think that this lawyer is simply trying to get money out of their client and bill them for all they are doing. I am considering representing myself or getting a court-appointed lawyer, if I am able to. Do you think this is a bad idea? If so, why? I assume they want to go after me for money this time around and if so, I have no property or wages they can attach currently. Can they get money from me in the distant future? (ie: ask me to pay all legal fees? Thanks so much for any help you can give me


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search