Massachusetts  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
6/10/09, 3:35 pm

Legal Question


malpractice/negligence

just wondering who is liable for this awful experience my mom has had. 6 months ago my mom got got an infection on her cuticle area of her finger. After being admitted to our local hospital, they concluded it was beyond what they could do. No hand specialist was at this hospital. she was then tranferred to a big hospital in the city. There, to my surprise, she was assigned a plastic surgeon. the plastic surgeon let someone (possibly a med student) who works for her tend to my mom. She pulled off my mom's fingernail to relieve the infection. My mom remaind in the hospital for a week. Not any real improvement. there were monthly followup visits for about four months. For insurance reasons, my mom had to return to her own HMO with still no improvement in her finger.....4 months later. She ended up in the hospital for an unrelated issue. while there the nurses noticed this incredibly infected deformed finger, then called an orthopedic specialist to see my mom. He declared that my mom had MRSA and was surprised it went on this long. He set up an appt at his office for when she got out of the hospital. He explained that the infection was so bad and the fingertip could not be saved. He had to amputate half my moms finger


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search