Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Michigan

I am needing to file for bankruptcy. My house is listed as free and clear with no liens. However, I have a mortgage from my elderly parents who paid for it and have since lent me much money against the house that exceeds it's worth. Virtually, it's their house and they're ignoring my lack of payments until I get back into the workforce. Do they have a legal right to the house assets even though it's in my name and the title shows no lien? Or, can the bankruptcy court or creditors sue for the assets or put a lien on it?

Asked on 12/07/12, 1:58 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Denton Robert Denton
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Was the mortgage recorded? Don't do anything like transfer the home to your parents without speaking to a Bankruptcy Lawyer.

Read more
Answered on 2/20/13, 11:34 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now