Michigan | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
Legal requirements for a law to be considered valid
Michigan has a law that requires drivers to merge over one lane whenever a vehicle such as a police car is performing an official duty on the side of the road.
It appears in this situation that public servants who accept some risk as part of their profession are afforded greater protection under the law than citizens whom they are required to protect.
example - police cars, when pulling someone over they have a choice of directing that person to a nearby off ramp so they can provide a greater level of safety to both themselves and the person they are pulling over. Additionally, that officer is in an official vehicle which is equiped with flashing lights that can be viewed from a long distance away.
However, a ''regular'' citizen who was just in an accident, or happens to be changing a tire and finds himself on the side of the road receives no additional protection under the aforementioned law (the law that requires vehicles to merge one lane for an official vehicle).
I'll appreciate any response that anyone has to offer on this matter.
regards,


