Legal Question in Discrimination Law in Michigan

abusive landlord

I had lossed my job and was seeking emlpoyment with the Federal Government. I passed all ereas with the exception of the physical exam at which time I was sent to a cardiologist. I was informed that I not only had a complete heart block but that I had extreme mitral valve regurgitation . my Dr. put me on temp dissability until I can get through my surgeries.My landlord even though I have paid my rent late each month( but it has been paid) has been heard saying she hates Americans..she would not listen to any explainations to why I was late..she has harassed me in front of my building screaming that I should have moved allready..she told my wife and I that she was going on vacation and could not accept our late rent..I went to court showing I had her money at which time her attorney stated that I overpaid $ 208.00. When I came in to drop my rent off to her she would not give me a reciept stating I would have to return for it.I moved to my mothers house and cannot afford to drive 45 min back to get my reciept.She denied me an appointment for a walkthru stating she only does that for people who pay their rent on time.. We did however video cam it.she says she will charge for nail holes .. What can we do ?We have cleaned spotlessly!

Asked on 5/03/04, 12:14 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

William Stern William Stern, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: abusive landlord

If she fails to return your damage deposit, sue and get extra damages. Bill Stern 248-353-9400

Read more
Answered on 5/03/04, 7:43 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88423 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now