Michigan  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
2/26/09, 3:27 pm

Legal Question


Layoffs / Terminations

Our company, like most in this economy at the moment, is going through a rough period and need to layoff a few employees. My first question is:

(1) We are thinking of laying off a women is ready to return from maternity leave....is that legal?

(2) We have 28 employees and the ratio of women to men 1:7. In this layoff, the managers are proposing to layoff 2 of the 4 women in the whole company....is this ok or are we opening up ourselves for lawsuits?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search