Legal Question in Family Law in Michigan

If you are ordered to serve 90 days in jail because you are behind in child support, are you forgiven that amount once you have served the 90 days? Or does your child support continue to build?

Asked on 8/18/11, 5:33 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Walter Downes Walter J. Downes
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your arrearage of child support would continue to build if not paid. Jail time does not forgive or eliminate the balance of child support.

Read more
8/18/11, 7:05 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8805 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now