Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Michigan

I closed my small business on 7/31/13. I took over the commercial lease from the previous owner who was responsible for the original build-out of the unit. Upon closing my business, I have liquidated all equipment and furnishings and returned unit to essential bareness. The landlord is now withholding my security deposit until a 'white-box' is returned to him, i.e. removing tile flooring, a structural front-store counter, etc. I do not recall a clause in the contract pertaining to build-outs. What are my legal obligations if no such clause exists?

Asked on 10/18/13, 7:42 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Klisz Klisz Law Office, PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If that clause doesn't exist, then you have no obligation. It is very standard in commercial leases. Check with an attorney if you have questions.

Read more
10/18/13, 9:41 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

87822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now