Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Michigan

I am on a land contract with my boyfriend. Our own agreement was that I pay the house note and he would pay everything else. When the lady that owns the home found out I was making the payments, she began to list only my name on the receipts. My boyfriend recently got into some trouble with domestic violance charges and blames me for the outcome of his sentence. In this, he wants me to move out. I have paid close to 30,000 for this home and fairly close to paying the remaining balance of the home off. My question is, who has legal rights to the home and is there a way for him to make me leave or vise versa?

Asked on 7/18/13, 6:52 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Klisz Klisz Law Office, PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No. If you are both on the land contract, you both have rights to the interest in the home. One would have to buy the other out or go to Court for a partition action.

Read more
7/18/13, 7:21 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now