Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Michigan

I signed a commercial lease and gave a $7800 security deposit money to our broker. He tells me to check with my contractors to make sure the costs to start the business won't be too much for me to handle before we finalize the lease with the owners signature. I checked, and found out that prices are too high and I need to back out. The owners now want to keep $2000 because they said they had to turn prospective tenants away for the past few weeks.

Can the owners keep my money when we never finalized the lease with the owners signature?

Asked on 6/14/13, 9:54 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Klisz Klisz Law Office, PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If you didn't have a signed contract, no they can't keep your money. If it was signed, then read it carefully.

Read more
6/14/13, 2:24 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8806 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now