Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Michigan

State: Michigan

Loan type : FHA

My husband and I signed a purchase agreement with a builder for a new construction home. The original sales price was $172,000, and we opted for $18,000 in upgrades, which made the contract $190,000. The seller wrote into the contract that he would not put in ANY upgrades in the home until the appraisal came back to support that figure, and our financial contingencies were waived, however he put in some of the upgrades such as granite, tile, spindle railing before the appraisal was done . The appraisal came back at $172,000, so we signed a new Purchase Agreement (PA) for that amount. The builder wanted to do a side note for the price of the upgrades since he already put them in. We agreed to a note of $10,410 signed by all parties. In the original agreement he had agreed to 2% seller concession, but in the new contract took that out. The bank has as a contingency that he needs to add an addendum to the PA for the 2% seller concession. He told us the only way he would do that is if we sign a new side note at $16,200, and he wants to change the title of the note from “amendment” to “consulting fee” with no itemization of what $16,200 was for. We told him we did not want to that, so now he is saying we are backing out of the deal and he gets to keep our $5000.00 deposit. Do we have a leg to stand on in court to get our deposit back? I have documentation of everything through e-mail correspondence.

Thank you for your time.

Asked on 6/18/11, 7:25 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jules Fiani Law Offices of Jules N. Fiani
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Call me to discuss this matter at 810-227-7200. Over 30 years of experience with proven successful resutls.

Jules N. Fiani

Law Offices of Jules N. Fiani

Read more
6/18/11, 8:30 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now