Legal Question in Banking Law in Minnesota

Refusal to honor CD

My mother purchased a CD in 1985. Since then, that bank was purchased by another bank. My mother passed away in January of this year (2009). In her safe deposit box, we found the original CD. When presented to the bank to cash it out, the bank refused, saying that they had no record of it.

What legal recourse do we have in this matter?

Asked on 5/08/09, 7:51 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Anderson Mahoney Anderson LLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Refusal to honor CD

What is face amount? Interest?

Successor bank would have obligation to honor debts of prior bank. Federally chartered or state bank?

Call or email for help.

Read more
5/08/09, 9:54 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Banking Law questions and answers in Minnesota

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8787 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Banking Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now