Minnesota | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
sue for back childsupport
My sons father is suppose to pay court ordered child support. He has done everything in his power to avoid making these payments. There is records with the child support office of him starting jobs and quiting as soon as the state withholds money from his check. The amount of child support due to me at this time is well over $10,000. Recently, he was arrested on serious drug charges and will most certainly be doing prison time for a few years. I am wondering if I have an option to go to court and ask for his valuable personal belongings such as stereo equipment, tv, vcr, collector art prints and things of this nature be awarded to me as ''payment'' for some of what he owes me. We were in a 10 year relationship and aquired most of these things together as a unit, however I never put up a fight to claim these items when we seperated. All of these items are in storage and they will certainly not be of any use to him for the next few years. Do I have a right to his property because of his non-payment of child support?


