Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Minnesota

Over year ago, i received legal documents pertaining to a case involving a girl with same name as me, but not me. (She had borrowed her uninsured car to another individual, who got into an accident, and the insurance company for the other driver was suing her- i never owned the car described, i don't know the person who was driving the car, and the car had Wisconsin Lisc. Plates - where i have nevr lived) I called the plaintiffs lawyer to inform them they were contacting the wrong person, and after a few calls was assured it would get cleared up.

Now, a few weeks ago, i received a Notice of Judicial Assignment of the case, and now yesterday received copies of the Plaintiff's Motion for Default, Proposed findings, and an Affidavit saying that to the best of his knowledge, my address is where this girl lives. I tried calling that lawyer again, but just got voicemail.

I'm at a loss for what to do. I really can't afford to find my own lawyer, i'm just surviving as is. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Asked on 2/19/11, 9:01 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Anderson Mahoney Anderson LLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You may need to submiit an Affidavit.

Call for assistance. I can do for small flat fee

Read more
2/19/11, 11:17 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Minnesota

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8809 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now