Minnesota | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
Landlord is blaming the tenants for water damage in the basement.
On the move out date, another tenant and I were waiting around to have the landlord check things over. He noticed water in the basement, and he then checked the gutters and one was off and the other was damaged. He said to our face that we aren't responsible for the water damage. He told us that he will send the damage deposit out to us when we give him our new address. A week later he tried to avoid our calls and when we finally got a hold of him he said that we were responsible for the water damage and we wouldn't be getting our damage deposit back.
We talked to the neighbors while we lived there and one said that it is a nice house; however, the tenants before complained about water in the basement in the same bedroom that there currently is. We certainly didn't take any of the gutters off and I don't think it is our responsiblity to check on the gutters, because they were at the bottom of thick shrubs and hard to get at. The landlord also refuses to give out the name of his contracted, which I find suspicious.
Also, I drove by the house and noticed that the landlord, just after we moved out, put gutter extensions on the gutters as well as built up the landscaping around the house. What is your advice?


