Minnesota  |  Traffic Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/08/06, 8:27 pm

probable cause

does a wright county MN deputy have the right to run license plates at random when it involves himself breaking basic traffic violations to obtain the license plate number. I, the defendant, was stopped (no driving violation possible here) southbound in a left turn lane, with my signal on, my seat belt on, basically doing everything correctly. (except driving after revocation, and no insurance). the deputy, westbound, was turning right (northbound) and crossed over to the far left lane, toward the side of my car, to get a closer look at my license plate number (I saw him do this). Does he have probable cause to run my plates because I was driving a rusty old car?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

153 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search