Missouri | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
I paid a credit card off in 2005. I have the proof that it was paid. I am getting sued and have a court date. Can I recoup any money/time I spent to fight this. Can I require them to change the info on my credit report?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sean Santoro |
It is difficult to get a court to order payment for your time spent fighting a lawsuit, unless you can prove that the person suing you knew the suit had no merit. In Missouri, a lawyer who signs off on a lawsuit knowing it is without merit can be subject to discipline including suspension or even disbarment in some cases. The Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) gives consumers considerable clout in ensuring that information on your report is accurate and up to date. You can force credit reporting agencies to correct your report if it is not accurate and up to date. I do lots of work in this area. Feel free to email me at sean@roadlawyer.net or call me at 913 441 5025 if you want to discuss this further. Sean Santoro/Santoro Law Office/Licensed in KS and MO |
Top Attorneys in MO
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
LawSmith
Lee's Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 3761
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Bartimus, Frickleton Robertson & Gorny, PC
Jefferson City, MO
Questions Answered: 1384
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-09
Santoro Law Office
Bonner Springs, KS
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
James Manning, PC
Harrisonville, MO
Questions Answered: 157
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-13
the montgomery law firm llc
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 57
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Jonathan D. McDowell
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 47
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-25
Greene & Taylor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-31
The Legal Resource Center
Lees Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-11-30
Tad K. Morlan, Attorney at Law
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 22
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-05-17
Search Questions and Answers


