Missouri  |  Elder Law

question bubble
10/31/09, 8:48 pm

Legal Question


Assisted Living. Elderly dad in MO. This morning a 57 yr. old son of a female resident where my dad lives came in his room and asked him to sign a paper as a witness to some sort of disability claim. My dad is 88 and in his earlier years would have read every word before signing anything. This time he did not. My dad signed it without even his glasses on! My imagination is running rampant as to what that son's intentions were having a man living in assisted living sign anything even as a witness! I spoke with the director and she said she may get ahold of their attorny to get ahold of that guy to get a copy of what my dad signed. As far as I know, my dad could have signed something as a "co-signer" to a loan or even a power of attorney! My dad sits with a senior lady for breakfast, lunch & dinner and this woman's son comes in about 3 times a week to sit and eat with them and this is the only relationship they have. I do not know or met this woman's son. What do I do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search