Missouri  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/12/09, 8:46 am

Legal Question


My fiance and I have been offered a really great opportunity to move out of our apartment and in to a house that is family owned and cheaper in rent, so it's an opportunity we can't let get away. Our apartment manager is charging us an arm and a leg to break our lease and unfortunately, we can not afford it. We only have 5 months remaining, but if we don't move now, the house will no longer be available to us. In the state of Missouri, is there a certain amount or percentage a landlord can charge to break a lease or is it up to the individual apartment owners? We are currently being charged 3 1/2 times the monthly rent and since we need a 30 day written notice and have already paid rent this month, they are also charging us for all of next month.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search