Nevada | Family Law
8/09/07, 7:01 pm
Legal Question
child custody
if the chilred are residences of another state, the the father still take me to court in his state
child custody
if the chilred are residences of another state, the the father still take me to court in his state
|
Read More Answered By: Jim Herbe |
Re: child custody Each individual state has certain laws regarding jurisdiction over family law disputes. Whether the father could begin legal proceedings out-of-state would depend on the length of time your children have lived in that state, and whether there is a custody agreement in place with various terms and conditions.
Contact my office if you'd like to set up a consultation in order to fully evaluate the facts of your situation.
Best Regards, Jim Herbe |
|
Read More Answered By: Anita Webster |
Re: child custody Yes under some circumstances. The Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Act (UCCJA) states that jurisdiction continues where the custody order originated from and where one of the parents still remains. For example, if you were divorced in Nevada and one of the parties remains in Nevada, then jurisdiction can continue in Nevada even if the children and other spouse live elsewhere. If there are proceedings pending in two different jurisdiction, the one where the children live and the one where the custody order originated and where one of the parents continues to live then the two judges have to talk and decide which jurisdiction where address the custody issues. If you have specific concerns you should speak to an attorney. |
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 758
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-04
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 254
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 174
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Las Vegas,, NV
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-11-06
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
► Relocation with joint custody My ex husband and i had agreed during our divorce to...
► Family, child what rights does the childs father have if not on the birth...
► Restraining order I was serverd at work a 30 day retaining order, from my ex of...
► Divorce - enforcement of decree Is there a time limit or statute of limitations on...
► Post Nuptial Agreement Advice My marriage of 17 years is rocky due to my husband's...
► Last Name Change I was granted the right to return to my maiden name when I divorced...
► Service What is the best way to serve a divorce proceeding if you dont know where...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Nevada| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press