New Jersey  |  Administrative Law

question bubble
6/12/09, 12:14 pm

Legal Question


Inheritance, FL. / NJ

Divorced Parent living in FL and he owns a house in NJ dies 1992.

Divorced / Deceased parent in FL leaves 100% of assets, cash and a house in NJ to one of children living in NJ this child was married (July/88). They were married 4 years before inheritance.

Does the inherited childs ''spouce'' in NJ have legal right of ownership of parents assets cash and/or house that were inherit at time of death? Detail Note: Child that inherited the NJ ''house asset'' made a contract so that the divorced mother still living there can live in the house for as long as she wants at no charge. The cash was put into the inherited childs retirement account. Was this comigling money with spouce? The big questions here is does the spouce of the child that inherited the house, and cash, have any control or ownership of the cash or house in NJ?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search