New Jersey  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/06/02, 8:25 am

Legal Question


ATM Fraud

On July 4th 2001 I went to an ATM and was told I

had insufficient funds and could not withdraw

money. I called my bank immediately to find out

that about $5000 had been withdrawn from my

account from several ATM's over a period of about

10 days. I told the bank that these transactions

were not done by me and that I never lost my debit

card. I was told to write a letter to the bank

explaining what had happened. I did that. The

bank denied my claim for fraud because I never

lost my card and all the transactions were PIN

related. They told me I could write another letter

asking for further investigation. It has now been

over 7 months since my initial call. The bank has

been horrible to deal with and they will not give

me any information. I've contacted many

organization about this but so far nothing has

worked. I'm desperate for more ideas on how to

resolve this. I also want to know if the bank is

required to give me an answer within a specific

time frame. Thanks for your help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search