New Jersey  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
3/23/01, 7:03 pm

Legal Question


Lien and Wage Execution Order

Divorced 1997- Divorce Decree and Property settlement aggreement states my x-husband to pay a specific credit card debt-$8,000. I am named as second card holder on that credit card debt. 1998 he files Chap 7, includes that credit card. Debt transfers to my name , lien is put on my house and application for wage execution is submitted to superior court from the plainiff,a law office that now represents the credit card company. What are my rights? Is my property settlement legal and binding? Can they attach my wages and make me responsible when he agreed to a divorce settlement with me?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search