New Jersey | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
have to stop spend-a-holic wife and stop her from getting more credit cards
My wife has a mental problem where she trys to fill her lacking childhood by spending like mad.
She is now on her 2nd secret credit card, which I discovered today has over $1,600 in less than 2 months.
She worked part-time last year and earned $1,500!!!
YET, they gave her a $9,900 gold Visa. I called the bank and they said that my salary was not considered for this card, but that since we're married her credit rating is tied to mine.
How the hell can I get her separate? Can I close a credit card that is in her name only? How?
She's nearly bankrupted us twice already, and here we start again.
What can I do legally to stop her? I don't care how extreme the measure is. She is going to destroy my credit rating, and I'm in the process of looking for a small business to purchase, and she's going to ruin our marriage in the end.
HELP...please.


