New Jersey | DUI Law
Legal Question
After my DUI sentencing, I was ordered by the IDRC to undergo outpatient alcohol treatment. At the time i wasn't going to stop drinking, so i didn't comply.
A short time later, i admitted to myself i have a problem and went to Princeton House rehab through my insurance company. An IDRC non-compliance warrant was issued for me. When I contacted idrc they said i needed a reevaluation drug and alcohol counsellor. I complied, The counsellor sent a letter to idrc stating i needed no further treatment. that was over 2 weeks ago, and the idrc still has made no determination. whenever i call, I'm told the director hasn't had a chance to look at it. "She's having a bad week" or "shes in class tonight" are the usual excuses I get.
I've been sober for just under 5 years and I wish to get on with my life. Should I go before the judge again? Last time I appeared before him he remanded me back to IDRC. Should I pester the IDRC for their decision? Should I speak to the director's supervisor? I can't believe any one's too busy to take five minutes to look over a reevaluation and give a determination.
I was ordered to complete outpatient treatment, but I went one better and did Inpatient treatment, and outpatient follow up sessions.
Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you.
.


