New Jersey | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Engagement ring
DO I have to return an engagement ring
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Gleaner |
Re: Engagement ring There must be an awful lot of people out there who are getting engaged and then breaking their engagements. This is the third time I've answered this question. An engagement ring is a gift conditioned upon marriage. Once the marriage occurs, the condition is met and the ring belongs to the woman. If the marriage does not occur, it belongs to the man. Upon divorce, it belongs to the woman since the condition (marriage) was met. There is existing case law on this point. Keep in mind that this advice is based purely on the little bit of information that you have given to me. There may be other factors that would change my opinion. Further, no one can rely on advice from an attorney who has not been retained. Since it appears that you have not retained an attorney, before you take any further action, you should contact an attorney (either me or someone else) to discuss your matter in more detail. Only then will you be able to rely on the advice. I will be happy to assist you. However, you need to call me at 856-546-8010. If you mention LawGuru, there will be no charge for your first consultation. Good luck! Rob Gleaner [By the way: Can someone explain to me why a woman would want to keep a ring from someone who she doesn't want to marry? It seems like it is plain greed to me!] |
Top Attorneys in NJ
Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 3594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Corbett Law Firm LLC
Evesham, NJ
Questions Answered: 2017
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Law Office of Stephen R. Loeb
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1674
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Law Offices of Jason B. Kessler, P.C.
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 715
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Search Questions and Answers


