Legal Question in Insurance Law in New Jersey

Homeowner collects from insurance co. after an arsonist burns down their house. After the criminal trial (arsonist convicted), homeowner also sues arsonist, wins, and collects damages from him. Is insurance co entitled to any money the homeowner receives from the arsonist? (If so, why [legally] and/or under what circumstances [e.g., only if insur co was a co-plaintiff in the suit w/the homeowner, etc.]?)

Note: This is a hypothetical question; I'm a beginning paralegal student and need the answer to help complete part of a homework assignment. I can't find a direct answer in the course materials, and the program is online, so the professor is unavailable on weekends.

Asked on 4/07/13, 7:29 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Davies The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

you are a poor paralegal if you can not find the answer. sorry, but this is a test and you need to figure it out.

Read more
4/08/13, 9:36 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in New Jersey

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Insurance Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now