New Jersey  |  Employment Law

question bubble
10/07/09, 1:52 pm

Legal Question


A friend was hired by a company in April as a salaried exempt employee. Approximately 30 days after her start date, the employees were officially notified that the company was going to be acquired. A short two months later she learns that she will be laid off as part of the consolidation of jobs/integration process. I am wondering if she has a legitimate legal case against the company for her job loss as we expect that senior management knew of the impending acquisition at the time of her job offer and start date. Do you think she has a valid legal case against the company?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search