Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New Jersey

I just renewed my lease in New Jersey for a year but the lease does not start until June 2013. I am taking a new job in Michigan, so my question, is there a penalty for breaking a lease if I am moving for a new job in another state?

Asked on 3/25/13, 6:43 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Matthew Schutz Matthew R. Schutz, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If you signed the lease, you are bound. That having been said you might try talking with your LL about releasing you from the extension.

Read more
Answered on 3/25/13, 6:48 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New Jersey

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now