New York  |  Disability Law

question bubble
11/11/06, 4:58 pm

Legal Question


Fired while on disability

I had surgery on October 16th -in September I let my employer know and asked themm if it would be a problem, they reassured me at least 4 times my job was safe. They filled out all the paperwork and told me to get better so I can get back there. They hired someone new 2 weeks before I went out. I have been off for 4 weeks now (need 4 more) and I received a letter in the mail that stated due to me being on disability, they can no longer afford to keep me. Is this legal?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search