New York  |  Disability Law

question bubble
9/17/06, 4:48 pm

Legal Question


Possible Sexual Contact w/child

The facts: 5 yr old girl has bruise on labia, shows sexual agression toward younger sibling. Child seemed unsure how she got bruise, but later says her uncle got on top of her(uncle was visiting w/other relatives over night). Mom seeks medical care for bruise (no penetration) & has phone consult w/ child therapist. CPS notified possibly by neighbor. Police visits home w/CPS (after phone consult) & says they must notify uncle. What happens if child receives counseling, will this automatically lead to arrest of uncle, or restraining order based on what she says in therapy? Or do parents need to press charges? The parents want the child to get counseling, but are unsure of what happens next, they thought phone consult was confidential. They want to help & protect child, while giving uncle benefit of doubt, and ruling out any other relatives (including minors) that were visiting at that time. Where can they go for legal advice & questions?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search