New York  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
9/04/09, 11:44 am

Legal Question


Hello - I work in New York City. Our company moved offices closer to midtown, and my employer is enforcing a rule that we cannot eat in the offices (note, this is an office rule, not a building rule).

This is for the "new culture" direction our company is trying to get to. Ultimately I think it's b/c of our diverse ethnicity that he does not want food of "questionable" odors in the office.

I feel that living in today's economy, and asking them to buy lunch/find a spot outside our building to have lunch is irresponsible and disrespectful. Someone who is 5 months pregnant was also told to take her food outside, and not eat in the office.

Can my employer do this? Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search