New York  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
5/30/02, 12:32 pm

Legal Question


Personal manager verbal contract?

I am a performer living in New York City. I have been working with a legitimate talent management company for the last year and a half. After interviewing I was offered a contract with a 90-day trial period followed by a 3 year exclusive agreement . The 90-day period passed and the contract was never brought up again to be signed. The relationship has continued however on a somewhat “freelance” basis. The only specifics that were discussed and agreed upon are 1. The length of term, and 2. The commission scale of 15% (pertaining to work I procured in areas handled by the management company). This management company has handled negotiations for about a half dozen contracts for me and I have paid out commissions according to the terms we discussed. Is there such thing as an “oral contract” between us? Having paid up commissions, am I free to walk away at any point with no further contractual bindings? Many talent management companies have “escalation clauses” to allow them to charge higher commission based on larger amounts. If they made a claim of this type at a later date would it hold up?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search