Legal Question in Family Law in New York

Family issues.

I would like to know if a person can adopt a child, he is not married with the mother but he is the father of her three other children, and the girls know him as the only father. Is that possible, Or do they have to be married in order for him to adopt them.

Asked on 7/10/09, 11:46 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Brent Rose The Orsini & Rose Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Family issues.

It's possible, but far less likely than if he were married to the mother. Also, don't forget that the biological father's rights will have to be terminated.

Read more
7/11/09, 12:57 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88323 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now