Legal Question in Family Law in New York

If I filed a summons and complaint in a divorce action in new york 6 days prior to my husband and the divorces were served on the same day. Does my summons supersede his since my summons was filed first? Also, he only served me a summons with notice and it has no index number on it just the stamp of the court with the received date.

Asked on 9/13/13, 6:44 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Bruce Provda Provda Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Filing date is usually what courts look at on most documents. If you think that you were served incorrectly, check with an attorney and raise the issue in the case.

Read more
10/06/13, 2:38 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now