New York | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
we have a flooding condition on our street due to bay water backing up the drains and flooding the streets. Our local government knows this is an issue . They applied for and recieved funding to fix our street and another street from the federal government. They fixed the condition on the other street and now say they spent all the money. They have no funds to fix our street. Our street is specifically written in the federal funding documents.
can the residents "bill" the town for expenses incurred as a result of this flooding? they know there is an issue, yet do nothing about it. I might ad that all the water that enters the streets is from town owned drains. the water does not enter from anywhere else. the residents constantly have to fix rusted out car parts, landscaping, never mind missed deliveries because companies will not drive on the street.flood insurance will not cover these issues.
thanks
bill


