New York  |  Employment Law

question bubble
6/07/02, 4:28 pm

Legal Question


Can they force me to shorten my skirt?

I am age 29 and a pediatrician. I work at a federally funded article 28 clinic

Here's the problem: I like to wear very long skirts, skirts that come down to my ankle. The director of the clinic believes that long skirts make me look young, too young to inspire the confidence of patients, anyway. I was been told that if she does not switch to shorter skirts (mid calf) I'll be fired.

Many other woman at the clinic, including nurses, receptionists and one 52 year old doctor, also wear long skirts occasionally. Only I had her job threatened.

Any rights or remdies you can suggest would be appreciated

Any thoughts?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search