Legal Question in Employment Law in New York

Hello,

Ive received from my employer "Confidential Separation Agreement and General Release"..HR person called me and told me that I violated code of conduct...

What was really happened I had some freelance job(telecommunications industry) last year before Ive started to work for this employer(healthcare) My freelance work was payed through the same system (they are in the same network) this year instead of

last year(late payment) Yes Ive spent few hours on freelance project last year finishing something Ive started before I accept full time offer.

Ive signed "code of conduct" this year and I didnt work on that project this year as well. As I said Ive spent few more hours last year-on beginning of my employment. My freelance work was for telecommunication and my ex-employer is in healthcare industry. Im so confused about everything. Ive immigrated to US last year.

Im not married to this company but I just want to understand my rights before I signed this separation agreement..I would like to know what would happen if I decide to not sign this agreement. I know that I will loose severance(2 week) What companies usually do? They are coming with new better offer? They have some different method to force you to sign this?

Please can I have some short advice

Thank you very much

Asked on 4/13/13, 4:03 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Locksley Wade Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your question is best presented in person to an attorney who can then review the agreement.

Read more
4/14/13, 5:01 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now