Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New York

I have a chronic leak in the bathroom of my apartment, which my landlord has known about since April 2009. They have just came and painted over the problem over and over again dismissing my complaints and saying it was a one time isolated incident from the tenants that live above me. Each time the leaks come back and the ceiling gets ruined again and again. There is white fuzzy mold growing from the sheet rock and the paint is cracked and peeling back. I just discovered a new leak tonight in my bathroom that is spreading to the hallway ceiling and the other side of the wall in my kitchen ceiling. Can I break my lease because of the problems or refuse rent? I am ready to just get out of this apartment because I pay way too much to deal with mold and leaks for 8 months.

Asked on 12/04/09, 12:14 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Locksley Wade Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

File a complaint with the NYC Housing Preservation and Development (http://www.nyc.gov/html/hpd/html/tenants/tenants.shtml). Good luck.

Read more
12/10/09, 6:44 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now