Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New York

my son bought a house and his girlfriend moved in with him.She brought a lot of furniture and gave him some.Now she is having an affair with one of his friends and moved out.She is sending a u-haul to pick up everything in the house.Even the things she gave to him.She never paid rent or utilities,what rights does he have to prevent her from taking everything?Should he ask her for proof of ownership or what?

Asked on 1/02/10, 9:53 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Markowitz Michael A. Markowitz, PC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The son has the right to retain the furniture that was given to him as a gift. However, the son does not have the right to hold girlfriends' property.

Mike.

Read more
1/07/10, 1:14 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

87822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now