Legal Question in Personal Injury in North Carolina

Hi, I was injured on Oct 14, 2012 in Asheville, NC on interstate heading toward Blue Ridge Parkway a Ford Tundra truck rear ended my Mazda 626 at a high rate of speed 70mph causing my vehicle to hit another and that vehicle hit another, Tundra truck was at fault and received the ticket I didnt go to hospital at scene but during the night started hurting in back and neck by next morning I couldnt hardly get out of bed and was in tremendious pain when I moved my neck. I went to the hospital later that evening. Emergency room doctor had x rays, and a catscan performed which later determind that I had suffered sciata nerve damage and soft tissue damage. Later had to do a few follow up treatments with my family doctor for the pain and suffering I worked at time in a textile plant where I had to pick heavy packages up to place onto weaving looms, the plant I worked at wouldnt allow me to go back until I could go back to full duty, during the time of missing work I also was treated by a Chiropractor for the pain I was going thru. I was out of work from time of accident and returned the first week back after Thanksgiving. I hired an attorney who came to my house to see me, I had never been in an accident like this before where I needed an attorney and I think I jumped to quick with this one. I lost my insurance at work due to the fact I couldnt return to work until I was dismissed to full time work, I had the insurance cancelation paper along with all my medical bills, lost wages paper from employer and everything my attorney said he would need to start the settlement I sent all the information to him around the 1st week of Dec. Near Christmas I contacted him and he was in the process of sending a demand letter to State Farm the at fault drivers insurance. I have been patiently waiting to hear from my lawyer and after not hearing anything after a couple of weeks I called his office and told them to have him to call me, after a couple of days he called and said "Any day now" this has been going on since Dec. 2012 and not hearing any updates can kinda be agravating. He had given me his cell number when I first met him but contacting him this way kept giving a message that MAIL BOX WAS FULL so I texted him instead of bothering his office which they would only send a message from me to his personal office I assumed. It appeared to be a better solution because he would text back with a quick reply sometimes and sometimes not until I would text him again wanting an update on my case and he would say he still hasnt heard anything back yet. I texted him last week to let him know I had received some bills where my canceled Insurance had paid some of my medical bills and a questionare paper from the insurance company about whether this accident was work related or automobile accident for a claim for a hospital bill that needed to be filled out and sent back within 15 days or would be going to credit bureu, got a call then where he said " Insurance adjuster left him a message and is ready to make an offer, and I would be hearing back in a day or two. After a week of not hearing anything I texted him back he called me next day which was yesterday and told me they offered $11.000 dollars and after his fees and medical bills I would receive $2.800 dollars, that to me is a slap in the face expecially when he said that he asked 5x the amount in the demand letter, when I mentioned to him about my lost wages was more than that total he said he couldnt get me lost wages added since I quit my job. I quit my job this Mar 14th 2013 because I was in so much pain from lifting those 20lb packages, and placing on 130 looms, bending and standing 8 hrs on concrete floors, and couldnt afford doctors visits with no insurance anymore from my plant and wouldnt be able to get insurance thru company if I had stayed until Jan 2014 thats the way the plant does their policy once insurance is lost, he also said he needed me to send him another paper from my total lost wages from the plant where I worked because he didnt have enough wages showing so he may could get State Farm to add a little more money to the $2800 dollars left for me and that he also needs more of my recent medical bills sent to him because he didnt know what to do about them since Insurance had paid some on them. I texted him later after I came out of the shock of everything he had said and told him we would go to court because I wasnt going to settle for that amount with all I have been thru and cant work anymore due to someone elses fault not mine. Any advice would help, should I find another attorney or wait on his call whenever that may be I am very upset with this man, and disappointed. Thanks

Asked on 4/13/13, 8:16 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Bob Bollinger Bollinger Law Firm PC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The lawyer is not the problem. The problem is that you are claiming against State Farm. You are probably doing well to get that kind of offer out of them.

Read more
4/14/13, 8:12 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Personal Injury Law and Tort Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now