North Carolina | Workers Comp
Legal Question
My jaw was broken in two places by a co-worker. Workers comp paid for the surgery however, I suffered permanent nerve damage and have no feeling in my lip and chin. Should I be compensated and by whom?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Stephen Camak |
Workers' compensation owes you for the permanent damage done. One way to approach it would be to request payment for permanent partial disability for permanent partial impairment to the nerve that inervates that part of the face. Discuss it with your treating physician and make sure he/she notes it (permanent impairment) in the records. Then you can proceed under NCGS 97-31(24) for up to $20k. Maybe more if scarring and more medical benefits available as well.
Go to North Carolina Industrial Commission website for more information (Rating Guide, Bulletin, Forms (file Form 18 ASAP), etc.). Also recommend calling an experienced attorney for more direction. Best of luck!
S. Neal Camak Lennon & Camak, PLLC Raleigh, NC Board Certified Specialist in NC Workers' Compensation Law |
Top Attorneys in NC
Law Offices of John M. Kirby
Raleigh, NC
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Bollinger Law Firm PC
Charlotte, NC
Questions Answered: 258
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-03
Lennon & Camak, PLLC
Raleigh, NC
Questions Answered: 158
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-16
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Attorney-Mediator
Kernersville, NC
Questions Answered: 113
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-03
Lennon & Camak, PLLC
Raleigh, NC
Questions Answered: 101
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-11
The Hart Law Firm, P.A.
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 67
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-07
Martin & Martin, PA
Greenville, SC
Questions Answered: 54
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-10
Rose Rand Wallace Attorneys, PA
Raleigh, NC
Questions Answered: 40
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Burch Law Office
Greenville, NC
Questions Answered: 32
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-04-11
Search Questions and Answers


