Ohio | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
if my car is repoed,can the dealership put a lien on my house?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Michael Benson |
After the resale of the car, the dealership may file suit for a deficiency judgment to collect the remainder of the loan that was not paid down by the sale. If the dealership is successful, you may be on the hook for thousands or tens of thousands of dollars. The dealership can then take that judgment and create a lien on any real estate you own by registering the judgment with the county land records office.
A common response is to file a Chapter 7 bankruptcy to discharge this and other unsecured debts. If you would like to discuss this option, feel free to call us at 216-241-2510. |
Top Attorneys in OH
Nancy Fioritto Patete, L.P.A.
Mayfield Heights, OH
Questions Answered: 1266
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-29
Frank J. Rozanc, Esq.
Eastlake, OH
Questions Answered: 1023
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-08
Gregg A. Manes, Esq.
Akron, OH
Questions Answered: 905
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-18
Elizabeth S. Schmitz Attorney at Law
Columbus, OH
Questions Answered: 547
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-03
Rosplock & Perez
Willoughby, OH
Questions Answered: 427
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-08-27
J. Norman Stark , Attorney, Architect
Cleveland, OH
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Attorney at Law
Cleveland, OH
Questions Answered: 225
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-08
James G. Flaherty Co., L.P.A.
Westerville, OH
Questions Answered: 152
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-22
Law Office of Lisa K. Meier
Columbus, OH
Questions Answered: 80
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Law Offices of Simon W. Johnson
Cleveland, OH
Questions Answered: 74
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-25
Search Questions and Answers


