Legal Question in Disability Law in Pennsylvania

Question: Can applying for US Social Security disability adversely affect my PA Unemployment Compensation claims

I have been collecting unemployment compensation since being laid off in 10/2009.

I have been treated for upper respiratory issues

(sarkoidosis/ treatment with prednisone/oxygen) since 08/2009.

Referred to a specialist, Dr Heffelfinger, at Suburban Pulmonary.

I continue to receive long term treatment.

My last job was as a contractor/system engineer at Comcast

Though I did a good job, there were noticeable side effects from the medication,

including impaired mobility.

I was laid off in mid-October, and I believe it was due to my health.

I have been collecting PA Unemployment from 10/15/2009- present.

I have submitted each claim as follows:

Able to work- YES

Available for work- YES

This is TRUE

I have been searching for work, and have interviewed for jobs (phone and in person)

However, I do have a disability- a restriction in my mobility.

I cannot walk long distances without oxygen.

I have been unable to secure a position.

I am certain that it is due to my disability.

I continue treatment under Dr Heffelfingers supervision.

But it appears that recovery will be a long, slow process.

I need a steady income.

I have submitted a loan modification application with Chase Home Finance.

I have been contacted for information by a Social Security office from the state of PA.

I am worried.

Can my application for US SSI impact my PA UIC claims?

Asked on 5/11/10, 12:08 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Elizabeth Karnazes New York Offices of Elizabeth Karnazes
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

possibly, find a good social security law firm, they take contingency cases

Read more
5/21/10, 9:43 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Disability Discrimination Law (ADA) questions and answers in Pennsylvania

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now