Pennsylvania  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
4/28/08, 3:52 pm

Legal Question


civil complaint re: cosmetic surgery procedure

Jan '05 I had ''work'' that left me with wounds that were substantially worse than the pictures shown to me prior to the procedure. I paid for several months until it became clear that I would be left with significant scars due to poor workmanship (which are indeed still very visible) and stopped paying. The company with whom I originally financed the procedure charged off the debt in the amount of $4700 ($1200 over the charged amt). I have just received a civil complaint (4/08)from a different company for $6500. I ran my credit report and this debt is showing as a closed acct. My first question is: am I responsible for this entire amt, if any, since the acct has been charged off and since the work is unsatisfactory? Secondly, if I were to file bankruptcy, would I be forced to liquidate my home and my car(both of which are financed)? Also, I have outstanding student loans, how do they figure into a bankruptcy claim?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search