Pennsylvania | Criminal Law
Legal Question
withdrawing a criminal assualt complaint
How would I go about having the local police department drop a assualt complaint against my biyfriend, if I, the victim do not feel it was assualt?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: William L. McLaughlin, Jr. |
Re: withdrawing a criminal assualt complaint The case will be captioned (titled) Commonwealth v. your friend. This means that the state, through the office of the District Attorney is in charge of the case. You have no right to control the prosecution since you are mearly a witness/victim. However, you are are probably the key or only witness. The District attorney can subpoena you to testify. If you do not want to testify, you had better obtain a lawyer to advise you because your options are limited and your risks are high. For example, you could be charged with making false statements to authorities (police) if your prior statements are not the same as your in court (preliminary hearing) statements. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
John W. Gibson, Esquire
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
SAUL H SEGAN ATTY AT LAW
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 515
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Levin & Zeiger LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-05
Law Office of Justin C Gearty Jr
Lancaster, PA
Questions Answered: 259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


