Pennsylvania | Family Law
Legal Question
prenuptial agreement
I am about to get married on October, 2005. I will be marrying a man who has a daughter age 6 who lives with her mother in Staten Island, NY. He gets to see her every two weeks for two days out of the weekend. I bought a home under my name only where we have been living together for 9 months. He paid some money toward closing cost and helps pay half of the mortgage. I would like to protect my assets as well as my savings acct, 401K plan, social security, etc. I do not wish to incur any debts which he has in his name only if something were to happen and nor do I wish for his ex to get any of my money if he were to default in his child support payments. Please advise what I need to do in philadelphia, pennsylvania in order to protect myself. My fiance has no problems in me having a prenuptial prepared because he doesn't want his ex receiving any of our money. Also, at this present time we have no joint accounts nor creditcards together because he's afraid the child support at any time can tap (he has no arrears pending either). I have great credit he is working in correcting his debts (which do not exceed $8,000.00) At this moment, I make more them he does, but will change in a month he'll make more. Thank you.


